top of page

Healing Your Chakras: Part 1

Our body is constantly flowing with energy. It travels from the tops of our heads to the tips of our toes. That energy has a name. A chakra is a center of energy. Derived from the Sanskrit word for "wheel," our body contains seven of these powerful energy sources.

The seven chakras are:

the root chakra,

the sacral chakra,

the solar plexus chakra,

the heart chakra,

the throat chakra,

the third eye chakra

the crown chakra. Imagine a spinning disc filled with energy and interacting with all our body's various systems. The chakras provide a constant flow of harmonious energy between those systems and throughout our bodies. If that flow of energy gets blocked or disrupted, our bodies become unbalanced. This can result in physical ailments, unhappiness, inability to focus, and a list of other issues. Understanding chakras and how they affect our bodies is an important step in maintaining both physical and mental health. The Root Chakra Located at the base of the spine, this chakra deals with the physical body and its connection to the Earth. Feelings of safety and being grounded are associated with the root chakra. It is considered the foundation from which all six other chakras feed. Imbalance with your root chakra can lead to sluggishness, depression, and poor circulation. Financial issues may also be the result of a blocked root chakra. This chakra is associated with all things red. To clear a blocked root chakra, light a red candle anointed with ylang-ylang oil or sandalwood oil. Recite the following affirmation:

"I am safe, I trust in the natural flow of life. I take my natural place in the world content in the knowledge that all I need will come to me in the right time and space. I am secure and grounded in the physical form and give thanks to Mother Earth for the nourishment, shelter and stability she gives me." Carry some tumbled carnelian stones in a red pouch with you. Make an effort to get some exercise, especially outdoors. The Sacral Chakra This chakra sits behind and slightly below your naval and is your body’s physical center. The source of your pleasure, passion, creativity and sexual enjoyment, the energy of this chakra is connected to our emotions and feelings. Issues with intimacy, sensuality and low libido can be caused by disturbances in your sacral chakra. Garnet is a powerful stone linked to the sacral chakra. Carry these tumbled stones with you or place them on your altar when praying or meditating. The color orange is the color of the sacral chakra. To help balance this chakra, draw a hot bath. Anoint an orange candle with amber oil or orange oil and recite the following affirmation: "I love and enjoy my body. I have healthy boundaries. I am open to experiencing the present moment through my senses. I am passionate. I feel pleasure and abundance with every breath I take. I nourish my body with healthy food and clean water. I know how to take care of my needs. I value and respect my body. I am open to touch and closeness. I allow myself to experience pleasure. My sexuality is sacred. Emotions are the language of my soul. I take good care of my physical body. I am at peace." Massage is another technique used for clearing your sacral chakra. Light some cinnamon incense and put on some relaxing music while focusing on opening yourself up to creativity and passion.

Solar Plexus Chakra Moving up the body, the solar plexus chakra is located below the breastbone and above the naval. This chakra is the home of your self-esteem, confidence and willpower. If this chakra is depleted, you may feel worthless, powerless and unable to motivate yourself to deal with life’s trials. Digestive problems, ulcers and memory issues can all be related to an imbalanced solar plexus chakra. These physical manifestations can be relieved in a variety of ways. Rosemary oil and lemon oil are connected to this chakra. Place dabs of the oil behind your ears and on your throat and wrists. Anoint a yellow candle, the color of the solar plexus chakra, and recite the following affirmation: "I effectively manifest the deep desires of my soul. I am capable. My needs are important. I can solve any problem that comes up. I respect myself. I stand up for myself and what I believe in." Meditation is also very helpful when working to unblock your solar plexus chakra. Create a mantra that you feel connected to and repeat it while you meditate. Goldstone and golden tiger eye stones are also powerful tools in balancing this chakra. Next week we’ll discuss the last four chakras; the heart chakra, the throat chakra, the third eye chakra and, the crown chakra. In the meantime, try experimenting with balancing your chakras and take note of how you feel. Good luck!

Let us know if this helped you on any way, and if there's something else we should add!



bottom of page